The 3 Stages of Life According to Shakespeare

By Bilal Hafeez

(2 min read)

The beauty of Shakespeare’s works is that they can be interpreted in many ways. One of my favourites is to think of his biggest plays as representing the three stages of life- youth, adulthood, and old-age: 

The three plays show the dark side of each stage of our lives, the uncertainty and inability to act of youth, the unchecked ambition of adulthood, and the desire for status and flattery of old age. All the time we try to live up to some external notion of being, we end up losing out on that we love the most. 



Bilal Hafeez
 is the CEO and Editor of Macro Hive. He spent over twenty years doing research at big banks – JPMorgan, Deutsche Bank, and Nomura, where he had various “Global Head” roles and did FX, rates and cross-markets research.


Enjoying this article? Take advantage of this one-time offer to unlock full access to Macro Hive…


This offer will not be shown again.


Register for Expert Webinar on Uranium | Commences in

2022 kick-off sale: 33% off annual subscriptions | ends in